Red Sky at Night

by juliemaida

I love trees. They really never get old for me (it is a good thing I pretty much live in the woods). I especially love them against a sunset when all I can see is a bold silhouette of intricate beautiful branches. I was driving home about a week ago and we had a really good sunset. It was the perfect background for those trees. It was red and orange and pink and reminded me of sherbet. I always think of that saying too, (“Red sky at night, sailors’ delight, red sky in the morning, sailors take warning”), and in my experience have never known it to be wrong, so when I see such a sunset , I always know that I can look forward to tomorrow’s weather.

In that moment, I decided I would start a new project out of appreciation for that particular evening. So, here it is. My newest project. It is bigger than most of my other paintings. I painted the wood, and sanded it down to give it a rustic look (I love something that looks a bit beat up), and so you can see the wood grain. The trees are just good ‘ol graphite pencil. I may get ambitious and put a layer of clear beeswax over the whole thing. I really haven’t done enough experimenting with beeswax over a pencil drawing yet, so I will practice on a much smaller piece before I go about potentially botching this one up.

Instead of taking measurements, I just asked my husband to take a picture with me holding it so you could see how big it is.

Instead of taking measurements, I just asked my husband to take a picture with me holding it so you could see how big it is.

redsky1redsky4redsky3

Ps. Yes, It is for sale. 🙂