Snow Day (not really)

by juliemaida

Today I woke up and it was snowing. This doesn’t happen nearly as often in Virginia as I would like, and I LOVE snow, so needless to say, I was pretty stoked.

“We must go for a snow hike!” I say. My husband (who was much less enthusiastic about the hike), was coerced agreed to accompany me on for this glorious adventure. I had the morning all planned out. We would get up, eat eggs and coffee, put on layers upon layers of clothing (I hate to be cold, even if I love the snow), and our hike would commence!

Here I should mention that I spent the previous 10 years of my life in Pennsylvania, and therefore, had certain expectations for the magnitude of our snow accumulation. Apparently, though, Spotsylvania (my current county of residence) and Pennsylvania are not the same, (even if they both end in “sylvania”). In my head, I imagined a white sparkling wonderland. I imagined that I would bring my camera and see artistic scenes of snow capped pines and icicle adorned tree branches. I envisioned the multitude of subtle colors and interesting shadows that reflect in the snow drifts. I anticipated the perfect imprints that deer hooves create in the snow. The reality I imagined is captured below in these photos I took a couple of years ago. They were taken in Valley Forge Park.

sunset

deer

singletree

Alas, this was nothing like our actual snowfall. Undeterred by this, I We were determined to enjoy our Virginia snowfall! See the beginning our our snow hike below.

Josh is very excited to be out as you can see by his giant smile.

Josh is very excited to be out as you can see by his giant smile.

I am prepared to brave the cold.

I am prepared to brave the cold.

However, as were continued our journey, in search of excellent photo opportunities, my our enthusiasm began to wane a little. It started to get warmer, and melt, and our snow hike turned into a mud hike. My visions of amazing photographs turned into visions of trying not to get too muddy, and blaming Virginia for not having more snow (Virginia was really kind of a jerk about it).

snowhike3

Notice there is no snow at all in this picture. No deer. No icicles. But plenty of road and cars and empty field. I blame Virginia for not being Pennsylvania.

snowhike4

This is a picture of me standing in an oil soaked mud puddle (which is NOT the same as a pile of snow). I will say, though, that I think this picture is cool because it looks like there is a little person trapped in the water.

Notice the mud. And my lack of enthusiasm. Also, the lack of gloves and scarf because it started to get pretty warm.

Notice the mud. And my lack of enthusiasm. Also, the lack of gloves and scarf because it started to get pretty warm.

snowhike5

Really, river of mud? >;:(

The bright side? We got exercise. We got one cool picture of a tiny person trapped in oil soaked water. We enjoyed the great outdoors. I got a blog post out of it. Happy snow day!!