People, Places, and Inspiration

by juliemaida

What a month! I will admit that I was not properly prepared for November/ December for a number of reasons. My inventory was not full enough. Etsy was much busier than usual. My coasters were featured in Stitch magazine’s gift issue which gave me more Etsy traffic than usual. Both of my money pits dogs had a major ACL surgery and a long recovery. Also, my husband and I went on our honeymoon (it may have been a year late, but it was definitely worth the wait) right before the holiday season began.

Recovering puppies. They even rock the cone of shame with complete and utter cuteness!

Recovering puppies. They even rock the cone of shame with complete and utter cuteness!

We climbed this banyan tree!

We climbed this banyan tree!

In addition to all of that, I agreed to work in a local retail shop for two weeks. Mix that up with a big bunch of standard holiday craziness and you have one very busy, somewhat stressed out, me. All that said, I am not complaining. I had a great month, I still have Christmas to look forward to, AND the world has not ended! (Yay, world still existing!)

One of the best parts of this month has been all of the inspiration. Sometimes, when all you do is sit in your house all day and make things, you forget to eat and shower  enjoy the people and places that inspire you in the first place.

I met lots of people at the shop in Fredericksburg (Visual Treats), which was great. There is nothing that feeds creativity like being around other artists. The (former) owner of the shop, Joni Ulman Lewis, is an artist and entrepreneur who has a particular affinity for repurposed and vintage items. She is witty, inventive, and funny and I am especially fond of her hand sewn greeting cards. She closed her store so she could spend more time making things, but she will still be running her business online. Check her out here www.joniulmanlewis.com or, www.joniulmanlewis.etsy.com.

I also met a cartoonist and digital animator (he has worked with all the important people like Nickeloden and Cartoon Network) named Frank (www.frankgresham.com), an artist named Blair (www.blairjacksonart.com), who does amazing colored pencil work, and a graphic designer named Anita who has an affinity for paper products and custom invitations (www.2bsquaredesign.com).

Despite the craziness, I am really grateful that I met so many creative people. I feel renewed, refreshed, and ready to take on the next year. What a great way to end 2012!