I’m in love with encaustic

by juliemaida

In love, I tell you. I discovered it a few years ago when my friend bought a piece by an artist in Colorado. I was enamoured instantly. It looked etherial, soft, and “dreamy”. Smooth and soft, but also full of texture and depth and layers. And lots of color. Color is my absolute favorite. I discovered it again at a local gallery about a month ago. Every time I see it, I practically have a heart palpitation. There is just something about it. Of course, my first thought is “I LOVE that!”, and then my very next thought is “I could never do that!”. Then finally today I said to myself, “Self, that is dumb. really dumb.Why can’t you do that? It just means you have to learn how to paint that way. I think you should try it.” To which I answered, “Self, you are right! Why not? That is that, then. I must learn”. And so, it begins!

So, what is encaustic, you ask? It is, quite simply, painting with pigmented wax. And it is beautiful. And I intend to master it, even if it mean I have to be up at weird hours or results in multiple burns marks from a heat gun. I have officially purchased a book on it…which makes it…official. I am on my way to owning a heat gun, and learning how to mix a combination of pigment, wax , and resin. Dangerous hot wax art, here I come!!