Chickens are funny…

by juliemaida

…And they always will be… at least to me they are.

So, I am at work and Lori, my co-worker and friend, who also thinks chickens are funny (one of the reasons I love her), and she comes into my office and tells me this great story. She says, “So this woman (another co-worker) has some chickens, and there is a fox that comes to her house to check out the chickens. Normally this wouldn’t be so much of a problem since chickens are usually stowed safely away behind chicken wire, in their chicken -houses , and happy as can you can be if you’re a chicken. But the chickens see this fox and get pretty scared. They don’t have real chicken wire, though. Instead they have wire from some hardware store (probably not Home Depot, though, since they provide me with wood for my art projects so we won’t assume they are responsible for this situation) that is meant for like a garden or something, and it has waaay bigger holes than it should have. These dumb chickens, in their terror, stick their heads through the holes in the wire (um, yeah, that makes sense), and the hungry fox literally bites off all of their heads (this is the sad part)!!! So the woman wakes up and comes out to collect eggs for breakfast and greet her happy little pets, and instead is greeted by several headless dead chickens! So sad, right? (But also a little bit funny. Okay, it’s a lot funny). It’s okay to laugh- you aren’t a bad person of you do. Anyway, of course, I had an image in my head immediately. So I drew it on a post-it at work with a ball point and some white out. This was the highlight of my day. I even signed it. Here it is…